From as early as the 12th Century, weaving was a major industry in the area, with the production of hempen cloth. As far back as Richard II, Weaving Guilds were set up to regulate all aspects of their trade.
So prosperous were these Guilds that they had their own chapels in the Parish church. During the reign of Henry VI (1422-1461) the Guild of St. Nicholas, disapproving of the affairs of the church, constructed their own chapel on this site. The Chapel of St. Nicholas was later dissolved by Edward VI (1547-1553), when many of the powerful Guilds were suppressed.
The building was left to decay and in 1584 was given by Queen Elizabeth I to one William Croft. Around this time the building was renovated and extended using many timbers from the old Guildhouse School, which had been demolished in St. Mary's Churchyard.
In 1595 it was recorded as being sold to a butcher as a retail shop and over the following 300 years changed many times to include a collar maker, grocer and silversmith.
W. J Garnham bought the property in 1900 and sold it to Herbert Siddall in 1946. Aldiss and Hastings (gents outfitters) acquired the property in 1952 and 22 years later applied for permission for a change of use to a restraurant in 1974 (Hunters)
Joshua is Weavers Head Chef - he's an enthusiastic, up and coming chef who has been Cheffing for the last 10 years.
His journey started when he studied catering at Norwich City College and fell in love with the trade. In the last two years, Joshua he has won a Rosette and is looking forward to bringing these skills to the great town of Diss and cannot wait to immerse you all in a fantastic experience.
Lindsey will be running Weavers Front of House Team - she is a local lady who has been running a local Hotel for the past 7 years, She has worked in the trade for past 20 years and is very outgoing and bubbly and cannot wait to bring a new vibe to weavers.